QuiltCon Charity Quilt Spotlight: “Diamond Heist” by the Saskatoon MQG

by Bev Drew, Treasurer

A number of months ago at one of the Saskatoon Modern Quilt Guild meetings I volunteered to take the lead to create the charity quilt for QuiltCon 2017.
I came back to the next meeting with 3 original ideas fleshed out and got members feedback. They picked diamonds! I followed up later with specific information in terms of size and geometry, brought in some samples I created, and encouraged everyone to make one or two blocks. We have 40 members so I thought this should produce plenty of blocks.

Well, it turns out 60 degree diamonds are a bit challenging. My family certainly heard some colourful words coming from my studio when I was building some of the diamonds. And I certainly heard some grumbling from some of the guild members. In fact, at one of our sewcials, someone actually cursed my name. All in good fun, of course.
The evidence of the challenge was clear when I gathered up blocks. Some diamonds were perfect, and just the right size. Other diamonds looked like they had been drinking and could no longer hold up their 60 degrees. I had to get busy and trim or add more fabric to ensure I could fit them together. IMG_0022We recently gathered for a sew day at one of our members houses. One of our tasks was to try to complete the top and back of our diamond quilt. Mission almost accomplished.

IMG_0035

‘Diamond Heist’ QuiltCon Charity Quilt, original design by Bev Drew, for the Saskatoon Modern Quilt Guild

A few more hours work on the last few seams and now I have passed it off to two other members who are quilting it on a long arm machine, and then the last details such as binding, hanging sleeve and label will be finished up before the quilt is shipped off.
Although we don’t have a photo of the finished quilt ready for this blog, our ‘Diamond Heist’ quilt will certainly be highlighted on Instagram at saskatoonmqg or at quiltingbev.
When our quilt arrives back in Saskatoon we will be donating it to our local Ronald McDonald House.

Instagram @saskatoonmqg

#saskatoonmodernquiltguild

Leave a Reply

