QuiltCon Charity Quilt Spotlight: “Milky Way the Modern Way” by the Portland MQG Hillsboro Carpool Group

by AnnMarie Cowley, member

Quilt_Front

The Hillsboro carpool gals (eight of us from Portland MQG and one deserter now with San Antonio MQG) agreed to do this challenge, and once we decided to make improv stars, off we went. One of us purchased Kona solids per the predetermined color palette. Each of us could add any solid or print that matched the chosen colors and made three stars each finishing at 3.5″, 6.5″ and 9.5″. PMQG has Sew Days at Fabric Depot, so we met two consecutive months with a plan in mind, then one last time at a member’s home. One member made the back from scraps, another quilted it, and then another bound and applied the sleeve.

PMQG_Sew_Day_Gals (1)

Jeri_Annie_Sylvia
Annie_floor

Probably the thing we learned in this challenge was about each other. Our carpool ride is usually 1.75 hours getting to the meetings, and an hour back, but we spent a lot more time together on this quilt. It was great having one member not sewing and moving the blocks around and giving direction. Occasionally, we would all break and get a consensus.

For me, I love the name of the quilt and that we met the deadline and will get to show it off at PMQG next Thursday. Important to all of us was to use fabric from fellow PMQG members: Elizabeth Hartman, Mo Bedel, Violet Craft and Monica Solorio-Snow.

6 thoughts on “QuiltCon Charity Quilt Spotlight: “Milky Way the Modern Way” by the Portland MQG Hillsboro Carpool Group

  1. Love the title and love your quilt. It is beautiful. Makes me home! Lived in that area for forty-three years before retiring and moving back to Idaho. Hillsboro, Fabric Depot, Portland, all of those places pull at my heart strings. Would have asked to join your group if I was there. Now I am a solo member or whatever it is called. Beautiful quilt!!!!

  2. I was immediately drawn to your improv stars at QuiltCon 2016. Seeing the images of it on the web, I am still just as inspired by your stars and the improvisational manner by which you joined them. If I were a kid I’d build a fort and put your quilt over the top so I could play in my fort with the start all above and around me!

Comments are closed.