Charity Quilt Spotlight: Central Jersey MQG

The Central Jersey MQG took on the QuiltCon Charity Challenge! We wanted to involve ourselves on the international level and contribute to charity further (we just finished our 2014 project of making 25 baby quilts for a New Jersey charity).

Earlier in 2013, our guild banner came together with incredibly creative, original modern blocks by our members. Therefore, it wasn’t rocket science to suppose that they could step up to the plate again. I sketched a rough idea in my sketchbook, setting the blocks into circles, or bracelets – something new. Then, I visited my LQS (Pennington Quilt Works), armed with the MQG’s challenge color scheme. After cutting the fabric I bought into various strips and squares, I created 18 piles of fabric on my carpet to be bagged.

Members brought their blocks to the guild meeting one month after they had received the fabric. At our November guild retreat, I spent two days piecing the blocks and negative space to fit my vision for the quilt. I also set random blocks on-point for visual interest. The negative space was a lot harder to piece than I thought it would be!

central jersey pic1

Next, Jessica Levitt quilted the quilt with her longarm. She used many thread colors to blend with the fabric, and did an amazing job of highlighting all of the blocks and the negative space. Finally, Neva Asinari bound, labeled, sewed on a quilt sleeve, photographed, and sent the quilt to Austin. We had a short time frame to make the quilt, but I’m so pleased at all the teamwork within our guild!

central jersey pic3

central jersey pic2

central jersey pic4

central jersey pic5

Overall, “Modern Bracelets” is a tribute to minimalism, bright colors, and modern piecing of every kind. My favorite part is the hidden gray block (Neva’s)! When it arrives back from Austin, we will donate the quilt to S.A.V.E., a New Jersey animal shelter, who will raffle it off at their spring gala. Those of us attending QuiltCon can’t wait to see our quilt hang along with all the rest of the charity quilts!

-Jessica Skultety, President

http://centraljerseymqg.blogspot.com

http://quiltyhabit.blogspot.com