QuiltCon Tips: Christa Watson

Registration for QuiltCon 2015 is June 24 (members only). Have you figured out your schedule?! This week we wanted to share advice from members that attended in 2013. You can read Anne’s post here, and Becca’s post here.

The next tips come from Christa Watson who is one of our very active Individual MQG members.

Hi all! I have a couple of tips to share from my awesome experience at QuiltCon in 2013!! 

First of all, don’t be afraid to go up and introduce yourself in person to people you’ve met online, and be open when people do the same to you :-). I did that all weekend and solidified so many new friendships by the end of the show!  

Katie Blakesley, Christa Watson, Faith Jones, Holly DeGroot and Lee Heinrich hanging out and having an outside dinner at QuiltCon 2013. This was the first time I met them all in person.

Katie Blakesley, Christa Watson, Faith Jones, Holly DeGroot and Lee Heinrich hanging out and having an outside dinner at QuiltCon 2013. This was the first time I met them all in person.

Second, when you take pictures of quilts to share on your blog with the folks who couldn’t be there, take a picture of the info card that goes along with each quilt. That way you can give proper attribution when you are writing about it later. I usually take a picture of the quilt first and then the information card next, so they are in order on my camera. 

I can’t wait until February, 2015 to do it all over again!

best_in_show_statement

Info card from Victoria Findlay Wolfe’s & Lisa Sipes’ Best of Show quilt. It was handy to have it right there when writing up a blog post later!

Thanks Christa for those great tips!

Did you go to QuiltCon 2013 and want to share some tips? Email us at info@themodernquiltguild.com.

Important dates to remember:

QuiltCon
June 23  Acceptance letters for Super Volunteers sent
June 24  Registration open for all MQG members 8 am PDT/11 am EDT
July 1  Registration open to non members
July 30  Last day to cancel QuiltCon registration and receive a full refund

Quilt Show Entries and Contest
June 27  Submissions for MQG Special Exhibit at International Quilt Festival close
June 30  QuiltCon Design Challenge submission close
July 1  Submissions for QuiltCon quilt show open (details coming soon)

2 thoughts on “QuiltCon Tips: Christa Watson

  1. This is great advice, since I’ve been thinking about this very thing! I live in rural Maine, about 2+ hours to the nearest MQG. I think I’m technically a member of that guild, but I have not been able to make it to a meeting because of my two little kids. My main quilting community is online. I’ve been following some quilter bloggers for the past couple of years, so as much as I feel like I know THEM, I was wondering if it would be weird and super-fan-crazy to go up and excitedly introduce myself when I see them walking around. It’s great to hear that exactly that is encouraged! I can’t WAIT to meet some of my quilting role models!

  2. Pingback: QuiltCon Tips: Tina Michalik | The Modern Quilt Guild

Comments are closed.