Modern Quilt Guild Member Spotlight: Christy McDevitt

Meet Christy McDevitt a MQG member from Bend, Oregon and part of the Central Oregon MQG. Christy is fairly new to quilting and like many modern quilters found inspiration through online tutorials and blogs. Read on and maybe you’ll find inspiration in Christy!
CM
When did you become a MQG member? Do you belong to a guild? When did you first find modern quilting?
I first became an official MQG member in 2013. In spring of 2011 I joined the  Central Oregon Modern Quilt Guild, desperately trying to find the momentum to finish a quilt made of Hawaiian fabrics I bought while on vacation. Little did I know it would be the beginning of a great new hobby. Once I learned a quilt could be more than squares on a gird with sashing, I was hooked. I was instantly smitten with asymmetry, negative space, solids, and of course improvisation. 
COMQG at Sisters Outdoor Quilt Show with their 2013 color challenge quilts in the background.

COMQG at Sisters Outdoor Quilt Show with their 2013 color challenge quilts in the background.

What is your favorite part of the quilt making process?
I love to create. I generally begin the design of a quilt with an idea in mind but it usually morphs as I work through completion of the project. I don’t think I’ve completed a single pattern as written, except for Supernova from Quilting Modern. I’m known in my guild for not following directions!

Stitch and flip technique from Quilting Modern.

How do you educate yourself on new techniques?
I learn a lot from my fellow guild members, enjoy the art quilt gallery in my local quilting shop QuiltWorks, and utilize the good tricks on many free tutorials online. I try to ask lots of questions when I’m in the company of more seasoned quilters.

c3

Where do you find inspiration?
Following blogs, even some non-quilting blogs, Pinterest, and meeting with the guild give me great ideas. For me, silence, solitude, and time to just think are also rewarding. By giving myself space and time to contemplate a quilt, I often find I come up with better ideas than when I just copy what’s already out there. For example I’m proud of a recent creation called Ohio Wedding. It’s a challenge mash-up for both the 2014 Central Oregon Modern Quilt Guild Ohio Star Challenge, and the NYC Metro Modern Quilt Guild Double Wedding Ring Challenge. Below you can see I carved a linoleum block into an Ohio star and used the stamp to print onto Kona snow. I sliced the printed fabric apart and pieced it into double wedding rings.

The quilt was part of the Double Wedding Ring NYC Metro Modern Quilt Guild DWR Challenge. You can see all the lovely quilts on their blog. Also, this quilt won a judge’s choice award in the New York City Metro Modern Quilt Guild DWR Challenge and was featured in this spring’s issue of Modern Patchwork.   
The quilt was part of the Double Wedding Ring NYC Metro Modern Quilt Guild DWR Challenge. You can see all the lovely quilts on their blog.
What is your most useful and favorite quilting tool?
I’m not much for special tools but I love my Sewline fabric pen. It draws a clear purple line for measuring and the ink disappears as it dries.

Land Cruiser quilt with custom designed Spoonflower fabric.

Land Cruiser quilt with custom designed Spoonflower fabric

What is the funniest mistake you’ve made while sewing?
I was trying to baste a quilt on my upstairs banister. I turned to grab a pin, and the quilt slithered off and fell down into the living room. I baste on the kitchen floor now.
Show us your space!
I try to keep things simple and the stash to a dull roar but have plenty of space to create in my upstairs bedroom. I’m looking forward to upgrading my cutting table this winter to a taller and larger surface.
Simple sewing area
What sewing machine do you sew on?
I sew on a Juki TL2010Q. I’ve had it for about 6 months and am so happy with the purchase. It really makes free motion quilting easy. The long neck is awesome and it quilts faster than I can think. I started on a Brother CS 6000i which was a great introductory machine for me to “try out” quilting before I made the jump to the Juki.
Juki 2010Q
If you could take a class from anyone in the quilting world who would it be?
I already got to take two classes from Jacquie Gering and Katie Petersen. I’m stalking Victoria Findlay Wolfe waiting for her to do a west coast class offering! The classes I took from Jacquie and Katie were offered at Island Quilter on Vashon Island, Washington.

c12

I can’t say enough great things about their classes and teaching. Island Quilter is a beautiful shop specializing in Kaffe Fassett fabrics with a friendly and helpful staff. It doesn’t hurt that it’s located on an island in Puget Sound! It was a quilt-vacation of slice-n-dice and machine pieced hexagons!

c13

Stay up to date with Christy:
Blog: Rampant Moss
Facebook: Christy McDevitt
Instagram: Cat Bend
Pinterest: Christy McDevitt
Flickr: cmcdev
Interested in being feature on our blog? Email jen@themodernquiltguild.com today!

One thought on “Modern Quilt Guild Member Spotlight: Christy McDevitt

Comments are closed.