Member Spotlight: Beth Chinderle aka Bettina Danger

Meet Beth, otherwise known as Bettina Danger. A modern quilter from Austin, Texas Beth loves math and soaking up quilty knowledge from online tutorials to MQG meetings!

image007

When did you become a MQG member? Do you belong to a guild or are you an individual member?

I finished my first quilt in April 2012 and became a member of the Austin MQG around August 2012.

image011

When did you first find modern quilting?

I first learned about modern quilting via the internet when I was trying to learn how to make my first quilt. I would search things like “how to make a quilt sandwich” and somewhere within scanning different pages, I found Elizabeth Hartman’s blog. From there, I found out that QuiltCon was being hosted right here in ATX!

image023

What is your favorite part of the quilt-making process?

Being a math educator, of course my favorite part is the math! Every step has an underlying mathematical concept and this keeps me intrinsically motivated throughout the process.

image021

How do you educate yourself on new techniques?

Often times, I enjoy the trial and error process of problem solving. I have an idea and I try to figure out how I can execute it. This often leads me to a Google search where I can find blog tutorials and helpful videos. In particular, Elizabeth Hartman’s blog, her classes on Craftsy, and her free-motion quilting workshop at Quiltcon really taught me the basics of making a quilt.  My other teachers are the incredibly talented and creative members of the Austin MQG! I look forward to the meetings because I know that I’ll be recharged with new knowledge from everyone’s perspective and experiences.

image013

Where do you find inspiration?

My inspiration is always evolving from a variety of different life adventures, but a major lens I look through when designing is my passion for teaching and writing elementary math curriculum. Even if I try not to think about math, it happens. As a student who never liked math in school, I now have a passion and responsibility to educate the community about how to provide better opportunities for students. Math is a language and everyone deserves the opportunity to learn it with understanding and use it confidently in their lives.

image017

image009

What is your most used and favorite quilting tool?

This is a toss up between Mac the Ripper and my 24.5 by 6.5 inch ruler. Mac the Ripper always gets me out of a bind! The ruler, besides for measuring, is a perfect area model for multiplication that has excellent benchmark fractions.

image001

What is the funniest mistake you’ve made while sewing?

This isn’t quilting related, but around the time I first started sewing I decided to make a dog plushie for a friend’s baby shower gift. I drafted what I thought was an excellent pattern for a dog, cut out the pieces, sewed up all of the parts, and just as I turned the plushie inside out, I realized I created a two-legged dog!

image019

Show us your sewing space!

image003

What sewing machine do you sew on?

I have a Janome 3160 QDC.

image005

If you could take a class from anyone in the quilting world who would it be?

This is a tough question because there are so many talented quilters in the world! A class with Carolyn Friedlander would be awesome because I like how her background in architecture influences her work.

image025

Stay update to date with Beth:

Blog: Bettina Danger

Facebook: Bettina Danger

Instagram: Bettina Danger

Twitter: Beth Chinderle

Become part of the MQG today! Check out the benefits and join now.

5 thoughts on “Member Spotlight: Beth Chinderle aka Bettina Danger

Leave a Reply

