SewDown Philadelphia-Lizzy House

Join us in Philadelphia! New friends, amazing workshops, a swanky hotel and all delicious meals included for this weekend get away!

Each day this week we will be sharing a little about their teaching style.

Our last instructor is  Lizzy-who will be teaching-The Meadow Block

Class Description: Learn to make the never before released, The Meadow block, with Lizzy House. It’s tricky, it’s curved, and there is a six-minute circle in it. No applique just truly extreme piecing! You’ll learn the skills to make and finish this beautiful quilt.

The Meadow Quilt

We asked Lizzy a few questions.
What do you love about the process of teaching?

I love problem solving. And I love to truly learn something you need small failures. I like to allow people to stumble. That might sound awful, but it’s only in the stumbling that the resolution sticks with you. So I really love watching people hitting walls, and helping them find ways over them.

 What do you enjoy most about teaching?

I love teaching, because I believe that the skills that I get to teach have enabling powers. Whether they are powers of creativity, expression, or healing, it brings me incredible joy to help people find new methods or ideas to grow and use for their whole lives!

What do you want your students to walk away with?

I always want students to walk away with ideas. I want whatever it is that we do in class to open up possibilities. I don’t like teaching classes where you make something and that’s it! I want whatever we make to be a launch pad.


Lizzy House

About Lizzy House
Lizzy House is a printmaker, fabric designer, author, and educator. She has released ten lines of fabric including one of her latest for Andover, Constellations, has designed a series of quilt patterns and is the author of the book How to Enter the World of Textile Design. Lizzy has a BFA in Printmaking and currently resides in Salt Lake City. When Lizzy isn’t printing, designing fabric, writing, or teaching, she can usually be found curled in a small ball asleep on an airplane. And no, she doesn’t want any peanuts.  Check out Lizzy’s blog here.

Join us in Philadelphia! New friends, amazing workshops, a swanky hotel and all delicious meals included for this weekend get away!

Register Now

One thought on “SewDown Philadelphia-Lizzy House

Comments are closed.