100 Days – Week of Techniques – Featured Quilt 7

Jill Collins has an unusual quilt making advantage in that she has a laser cutter for making acrylic templates in her basement! She used it to make the templates for this beautiful quilt, featuring curved piecing.

Here’s what Jill had to say about her quilt and working with curves:

“I’m always trying to think of ways to make a block that would seem nearly impossible to construct with fabric – but make it easy using templates. It’s actually just a very simple geometric block consisting of concentric circles with portions of some of the circles omitted to make it more interesting. It was one of my first attempts at curves, but if your cutting is precise, and you use a 1/4″ foot (and go slow), curves really aren’t hard – even for a beginner. I didn’t glue, pin, or mark, I just put one piece on top of the other and took off. It did however take me 8 solid hours to cut and piece this top. I’ve gotten way faster at curves with practice though. I really think the key is in the cutting.”

 

12 thoughts on “100 Days – Week of Techniques – Featured Quilt 7

  1. I’m crazy about circles and love this wonderful interpretation of the old classic. Exceptional!! Thank you for sharing.

  2. Astoundingly fantastic! And when I saw the close up shot I spotted some of my favourite colours. I love everything about it! You are very skilled.

Comments are closed.