100 Days – Week of Solids – Featured Quilt 7

The final quilt featured during this Week of Solids was made by Jane Fitts, the talented graphic designer who designed the Modern Quilt Guild logo.

What inspired the quilt?
I made this quilt for the Robert Kaufman Solids Challenge with our local guild.  Around the same time the challenge was announced, my brother lost his beloved dog Bamboo to leukemia. It was a difficult loss for my brother so I wanted to make something special to honor Bam’s memory. I was inspired by the work of the Gee’s Bend quilters and made this quilt using improvisational techniques taught to me at Denyse Schmidt’s workshop.  I worked off of a loose sketch and started by cutting the charm squares into three pieces, then matched them together again mixing the colors, then sewing them into longer strips within the blue solid.  I continued to cut strips apart and piece them, cutting and piecing until finally I ended up with a design that I liked, which turned out to be a queen.

What do you love most about using all solids?
As a graphic designer, I love working with color in so many aspects. I find straight color, without interference of a print to be very inspiring. I love mixing solid colors together and the ability to set a specific mood or tone this way.

You can see more of Jane’s work in her flickr stream.

2 thoughts on “100 Days – Week of Solids – Featured Quilt 7

Comments are closed.