100 Days – Week of Improv – Featured Quilt 4

These improv cross blocks were made by members of a quilting bee and the quilt was then assembled by Jacquie Gering. The improv lay out gives the quilt an unique and exciting twist. The quilt was quilted by Angela Walters.

Jacquie blogs at Tallgrass Prairie Studio and has been a member of two Modern Quilt Guilds! She was a founding member of the Kansas City MQG and is now a member of the Chicago MQG. She spent a few minutes answering some questions for us.

1) What do you like the most about improv piecing?

There is so much about improvisation that appeals to me.  It’s about creativity and taking an idea and making it come to life.  Improvising is not the fastest way to make a quilt, but I enjoy not only the design process, but also the trial and error that I use to execute a design.  It’s rare that a quilt turns out as I originally envision it. Improvisation can be frustrating and exhilarating at the same time.  I like that I have to work hard and sometimes even struggle.  I’m challenged and because of that I can grow and change. Improvisation provides an opportunity for me to express myself in my quilts and make something that is uniquely mine.

2) What makes this quilt modern to you?

During the World War I the Red Cross encouraged quilters to contribute to the cause by making Red Cross quilts and charging to add signatures to the quilt.  This quilt is my take on this traditional quilt. The cross block used in this quilt is a traditional block, but when I asked my bee friends to make them I requested them to improvise.  We all took this block and made it our own.  But beyond the block, the setting is what makes it modern.  The blocks are set to create the impression of larger crosses that float within the negative space of the quilt.

3) What inspired this quilt?

This quilt was made just after the earthquake in Haiti in 2010.  As I watched the humanitarian response to this disaster I was inspired to take these cross blocks and make my tribute to the American Red Cross.  The quilt is called ‘Peace and Comfort’ and words that reflect the work of the Red Cross are quilted into the negative space of the quilt.

2 thoughts on “100 Days – Week of Improv – Featured Quilt 4

  1. the quilt is spectacular – it immediately made me think of the St. George of England rather than the Red Cross – but it doesn’t matter – it’s just wonderful

Comments are closed.