Project Modern

Do you love to create modern quilts? Do you like the challenge of coming up with your own design or unique modern spin to a traditional design?  If so, have we got an announcement for you!

The Modern Quilt Guild is thrilled to launch Project Modern, a year long series of exciting quilting challenges!  Project Modern will be made up of four challenges that will span from September 2010 to September 2011.

We have lined up a group of incredible judges who we are so pleased to have involved.  Valori Wells, Malka Dubrawsky, Pokey Bolton and Denyse Schmidt will each judge one challenge.

Our wonderful sponsors are providing us with  amazing prize packages and, to top it all off, there will be a chance to win a Janome Horizon Memory Craft 7700QCP sewing machine!!

Everyone is invited to participate. It doesn’t matter if you’re a beginner or consider yourself a pro. It is about each of you challenging yourself to design and create. We welcome all members of the modern quilting community and encourage quilters to stretch out of their usual comfort zones. We anticipate that you will come up with some exciting and innovative creations.

We will be announcing the first challenge on September 1st, so keep an eye out here for the details, to see what fabulous prizes you can win and how you can take part!

Meanwhile, please do grab our button (on the right side bar – if you don’t see it now just click the blog header to bring up the sidebar) and put it on your blog.  We hope that each and every one of you will join in the fun!

Stay tuned…

84 thoughts on “Project Modern

  1. Project Modern sounds like an amazing journey, I’m glad you are sharing it with all of us. I’ll relay the info to my St. Louis chapter.

  2. I have been drooling over this machine. My local dealer is probably sick of me!! Oh to win would be such a dream!
    Also, this challenge is perfect for me. I love modern/non-traditional quilting. I can’t wait to get started. This will be my first challenge quilting.

    Come on September!!

  3. WOW a Janome … love all 5 of my present Janome machines. Yes there’s plenty of room for a new one … I’ve been thinking about upgrading. Thanks.

  4. I’m looking forward to learning more about the challenge and can’t wait to find out how to enter and learn more details.

  5. Very exciting! I’ll pass on the news to the Vancouver Modern Quilt Guild at our August 19th meeting. Can’t wait to see what the first challenge is!

  6. Fantastic! I’ll get our members of the Anchorage Modern Quilt Guild involved as well. This sounds like it will be a lot of fun, and a good challenge.

    I’m lucky to say I got a Horizon as a surprise present from my husband in July, and it is an awesome machine. Whoever wins it will be thrilled!

  7. So exciting! I’ve posted on our forum here in Melbourne, Australia. I think our members will be thrilled to participate. Thanks for putting together such an amazing opportunity.

  8. Sounds like lots of fun! There’s no guild in my area yet (Adelaide, Australia), do you have to be in the Modern Quilt Guild to enter?

  9. I’m in. Considering the line-up of judges I’d be just as happy to meet them as I would be winning the prize. I’m sure they’ll be major participation and fun with this!

  10. I am excited about this! I am a total beginner quilter, I had such a blast making my first quilt i want to start another one asap!

  11. How about non-US/Canadian quilters? That machine sure is nice but if we need a transformer to run it on 240V (that little pop noise of a 110V power supply blowing is heart breaking).
    Looks like fun though.

  12. This is such a great idea, even before the amazing prize and celebrity judges! I am really excited, it’s exactly the kind of thing that speaks to me about modern quilting! Thanks!

  13. Yay, I’m just new to quilting, actually sewing in general but I have designs in my head that are just dying to come out.
    Count me in too..
    Great prize too. Thanks

  14. Have posted it to our ning.com site, but am busy trying to move over to webs.com. will be interested to offer it to our small membership — I think having a challenge is a great idea, one that will attract interest and possibly participation.

  15. Does one need to be a member of a “Modern Quilt Guild” to be eligible to participate to Project Modern? There is no “Modern Quilt Guild” in our community or will one have to “virtually” join a guild in another community?
    Many thanks for clarifying.

  16. I love this idea, count me in! And the prize, well, I’m a Janome fan through and through and have been wondering how I was going to get my hands on the new Horizon! Just pick my name right now – I won’t mind a bit!!

  17. I’m a bit nervous. I haven’t even finished my very first quilt yet…and I’ve definitely never done anything like this. But I’m going to do it. I’m going to do my best and just see what happens. :) Yay! I can’t wait to get started!!!

  18. This is so exciting! The Modern Quilt Guild is launching a whole new journey for so many of us.
    THANK YOU!

  19. I look forward to this. I want my first quilt to be modern and not standard.
    Mine might not turn out great because I am a beginner. I would love to win the machine. I have a Pfaff and a basic Janome. My Janome is my back up and I like it better! The Pfaff is too judgemental of fabric and threads.

  20. Sounds a little daunting. I will see what the first challenge is to see if it is something I can do…I have an empty nest now, but it’s crazy how my time is still not my own! :)

  21. I would love to participate in this. Is it a formal registration somewhere?
    Looking forward to the first!

  22. Maybe this will get me back in my sewing room! I have never participated in anything like this before. Scary, but sounds like fun.

Comments are closed.